Looking through the Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 D

Posted: September 4, 2009 in Photography
Tags: , ,
Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D lens photo by Jeff Achen

Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D lens photo by Jeff Achen

During my most recent trip to National Camera Exchange I bagged this little goodie, the Nikkor 50mm f/1.8D. Granted it’s not the AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G, but for me it’s just as good and much more affordable (only $149.99).

I’m hoping to use the lens to increase my portfolio of depth of field photography. It may also serve me well when I get the new Nikon D300s and begin shooting video.

Overall, an exciting lens to add to my collection.

50mm f/1.8D with the aperture open to 1.8. Photo by Jeff Achen

50mm f/1.8D with the aperture open to 1.8. Photo by Jeff Achen

18D_2

The 50mm f/1.8D gives me incredible depth of field control. Need to clean my phone though.

Comments
  1. Leo says:

    Enjoy it…so far my 50mm is my favorite lens.

  2. Jeff Achen says:

    Yes, I was a bit hesitant to by anything that wasn’t a zoom lens, ya know, for the versatility, but that’s the amateur in me thinking. A good fixed lens is a photographer’s best friend.

Leave a Reply

